Chiefs for Change Welcomes Three New Members

Chiefs for Change
October 16, 2018

Chiefs for Change, a bipartisan network of diverse state and district education chiefs, today announced three new members:

  • John Deasy, superintendent of Stockton Unified School District, California
  • Susan Enfield, superintendent of Highline Public Schools, Washington
  • Henderson Lewis, Jr., superintendent of Orleans Parish School Board, Louisiana

Members of Chiefs for Change advocate for policies that promote academic achievement. Those who are a part of the network share a deep commitment to excellence and equity for all students and a track record of implementing policies that reflect core Chiefs for Change beliefs. Specifically, they have worked to expand school choice initiatives, establish strong accountability systems, promote the use of high-quality instructional materials, and create pathways that ensure students graduate ready for college and meaningful careers.

“All three of these superintendents are visionary, courageous leaders,” said Chiefs for Change Board Chair and Louisiana State Superintendent of Education John White. “Whether by driving unprecedented gains in one of America’s largest districts, significantly expanding access to rigorous coursework, or sustaining the foundation of the most dramatic school turnaround effort in our nation’s history, the chiefs have shown what is possible when leaders have high expectations for all students. We are proud to have them as members of our community.”

Chiefs for Change currently has 34 members, 25 of whom are actively serving as chiefs. Of that group, 16 are district chiefs and nine are state chiefs. Fifty-six percent of the members are leaders of color, and 41 percent are women.

Like all our chiefs, the new members we are welcoming today are well-respected educators and bold leaders,” said Chiefs for Change CEO Mike Magee. “They have a record of making decisions in the best interest of students. Our network, and America’s schools, are strengthened by their leadership.”

Quotes from new members

John Deasy: “Leading a school district to realize a vision of equity and excellence for all students is complex, challenging work. There is a lot to learn from savvy education chiefs across the country who are innovating, persisting, and seeing results. In joining this incredible community, I’m encouraged to lead ever more boldly on behalf of students.”

Susan Enfield: “Chiefs for Change advocates for many of the policies making a difference in Highline Public Schools. We must give families great educational options and a clear and honest picture of how our students and schools are doing. I am thrilled to join like-minded chiefs who stand up for their beliefs and work to ensure every child graduates prepared for the future of his or her choice.”

Henderson Lewis, Jr.: “I am honored to join this outstanding group of school chiefs from all across America. I am especially thankful to be joining Chiefs for Change alongside Superintendent Deasy and Superintendent Enfield. As the saying goes, we are often known by the company we keep, and being able to stand with these outstanding leaders is truly humbling. I also want to thank my friend, colleague, Chiefs for Change Board Chair, and Louisiana State Superintendent of Education John White. Together, united through Chiefs for Change, we are creating exciting, new school systems designed to support teachers, empower families, and give students the knowledge and skills they need to thrive. I look forward to contributing to the group’s work.”

Current members of Chiefs for Change

  • Malika Anderson: Former Superintendent of the Achievement School District, Tennessee
  • Katy Anthes: Commissioner of Education, Colorado
  • Robert Avossa: Former Superintendent of The School District of Palm Beach County, Florida
  • Desmond Blackburn: Former Superintendent of Brevard County Schools, Florida
  • Tom Boasberg: Superintendent of Denver Public Schools, Colorado
  • Steve Canavero: Superintendent of Public Instruction, Nevada
  • Emmanuel Caulk: Superintendent of Fayette County Public Schools, Kentucky
  • Christopher Cerf: Former Superintendent of Newark Public Schools, New Jersey
  • Tommy Chang: Former Superintendent of Boston Public Schools, Massachusetts
  • Veronica Conforme: Former Chancellor of the Education Achievement Authority, Michigan
  • Sharon Contreras: Superintendent of Guilford County Schools, North Carolina
  • John Deasy: Superintendent of Stockton Unified School District, California
  • Paolo DeMaria: Superintendent of Public Instruction, Ohio
  • Susan Enfield: Superintendent of Highline Public Schools, Washington
  • Lewis Ferebee: Superintendent of Indianapolis Public Schools, Indiana
  • Donald Fennoy: Superintendent of The School District of Palm Beach County, Florida
  • Deborah Gist: Superintendent of Tulsa Public Schools, Oklahoma
  • Bill Hite: Superintendent of the School District of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Barbara Jenkins: Superintendent of Orange County Public Schools, Florida
  • Hanseul Kang: State Superintendent of Education, District of Columbia
  • Christina Kishimoto: Superintendent, Hawaii
  • Henderson Lewis, Jr.: Superintendent of Orleans Parish School Board, Louisiana
  • Pedro Martinez: Superintendent of San Antonio Independent School District, Texas
  • Candice McQueen: Commissioner of Education, Tennessee
  • Scott Muri: Superintendent of Spring Branch Independent School District, Texas
  • Kunjan Narechania: CEO of the Recovery School District, Louisiana
  • Paymon Rouhanifard: Former Superintendent of Camden City School District, New Jersey
  • Robert Runcie: Superintendent of Broward County Schools, Florida
  • Christopher Ruszkowski: Secretary of Education, New Mexico
  • Sonja Santelises: CEO of Baltimore City Public Schools, Maryland
  • Hanna Skandera: Former Secretary of Education, New Mexico
  • John White: State Superintendent of Education, Louisiana
  • Antwan Wilson: Former Chancellor of DC Public Schools, District of Columbia
  • Carey Wright: State Superintendent of Education, Mississippi

About Chiefs for Change

Chiefs for Change is a nonprofit, bipartisan network of diverse state and district education Chiefs dedicated to preparing all students for today’s world and tomorrow’s through deeply committed leadership. Chiefs for Change advocates for policies and practices that are making a difference today for students, and builds a pipeline of talented, diverse Future Chiefs ready to lead major school systems.